Google Mail recognizes that the incoming message is identical to the copy in your “Sent” and ignores the duplicate. This is a part of Google's threading feature in the web client when you post a reply, your reply is threaded in with other's responses. This is a system feature and cannot be disabled. Sent emails can always be viewed in the “Sent” label.
Short URL to this page: https://answers.fredonia.edu/x/RgEjAg